Ring of Fire – in our backyard

For today’s assignment on Zero to Hero Challenge, we were advised to get inspiration from a Daily Prompt. And today’s Daily Prompt is:

Do you love hot and spicy foods or do you avoid them for fear of what tomorrow might bring?

Yes.

No.

Maybe.

I’m not so sure.

IMG_1383

Truth be told, I’m not afraid of eating spicy food, there are just certain foods that I want to eat spicy. No over-the-top spiciness for me (just enough to make my tongue tingle!), there is a certain level that I can consume. My grandmother in my father’s side came from a region here in the Philippines that is famous and known for their hot and spicy foods and for their use of coconut milk in almost every delicacy. That’s whyย I grew up in a house that spicy foods are a weekly routine. It is not a complete weekend meal if there was no something hot and spicy on the table. We serve two versions of food in the house – one spicy and the other one is not for the members of the family who don’t like much spice in their lives. Sometimes, I want a little twist to my food and other times, I just want it to be plain.

Speaking of hot and spicy, one thing comes to my mind – Chili Peppers. Let me show you a couple of evidence that spicy food is always served in our home. There’s no running away from it because we have chili peppers in our backyard planted by my grandmother! I almost forgot about it if not for the assignment. See, you’ll also get good things from the Daily Prompt. You will be reconnected to the things that you most likely neglect! LOL!

IMG_1387

Look at those unassuming, small but terrible creatures! LOL!

IMG_1382

IMG_1386

Even though Iย can only tolerate up until a level of spiciness, I believe in giving equal chances to food! Spicy or not! After all, it’s still food, and we all love food, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

signature

10 thoughts on “Ring of Fire – in our backyard

  1. Like the ring of fire in the backyard. I didnt know that phillipines use chilli and cocunut. I thought Malaysian and Thai cuisine has more of chilli and coconut. Well something new to learn everyday ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for taking the time to read it! ๐Ÿ™‚ I guess countries in the same region tend to have some similarities when it comes to their food and culture. Maybe, that’s because they’re practically neighbors. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

C'mon leave a comment! I don't bite! :)

