Music Mondays: Forevermore – Side A

Music expresses that which cannot be put into words and that which cannot remain silent”

    ― Victor Hugo

I am looking for a quote that will directly speak to me and describe what music is in my life in fewer words than I could ever come up with. Fortunately, I found the quote above very fitting with my relationship with music. There are days when you got thoughts in your head and then you just find a song that perfectly says exactly what you are thinking. It is about relating to a song or even in a simple melody with no lyrics. Just like me having to Google a quote because I know someone said it better than I would ever have. That’s why some people can relate to other songs, while others can’t. You can find music for angsty teenagers, for a breakup, for falling in love, for being yourself. It’s why we say “This song gets me” and probably become our favorite.

Maybe, you are wondering why am I having this monologue with music. “Where is she going with this?”, you might think. Well, it’s because I’ll be starting to post songs that affect me in any way. It can be from my elementary days or it can be as present as today. Anyway, I am calling these posts “Music Monday” – too cliché, right? But I don’t care, I love it! (that’s Icona Pop for you, folks! LOL!)

There is no question on what song am I going to share to you for my first Music Monday post. Of course, it’s supposed to be MY FAVORITE SONG – OF ALL TIME! Some of you, okay, maybe a majority of you will not know this song because the original band who composed and played this is a local band, a Filipino pop band called Side A. This song became my favorite because of a homework in high school. Who would’ve thought, right? The assignment was we were supposed to translate an English song to our native language. After that homework, me and this song have stood the test of time up until now. LOL! All my close friends and family knew that this is my favorite song because I’m not ashamed of letting them know and I’m very vocal about it.

There are times when I just want to look at your face
with the stars in the night
There are times when I just want to feel your embrace
in the cold night
I just can’t believe that you are mine now

You were just a dream that I once knew
I never thought I would be right for you
I just can’t compare you with anything in this world
You’re all I need to be with forevermore

I love every part of this song even though it’s one of those too-mushy-for-its-own-good song. Maybe that’s why it is a popular wedding song here in the Philippines. This is about your dream girl/boy who’s not a dream anymore because he/she is a part of your reality now and you’re off to your own happily ever after. Perfect for weddings, right? Enjoy listening and let me know in the comments what’s your favorite song and why it is special to you. 🙂

P.S: David Archuleta of American Idol also has his version of this song. You also might want to check it out. 🙂

signature

C'mon leave a comment! I don't bite! :)

