Music Mondays: Chandelier – Sia

MUSIC THAT IS CURRENTLY ON REPEAT

I’m gonna swing from the chandelier, from the chandelier
I’m gonna live like tomorrow doesn’t exist
Like it doesn’t exist
I’m gonna fly like a bird through the night, feel my tears as they dry
I’m gonna swing from the chandelier, from the chandelier

I guess I have been living under a rock these past few months because I only heard of Sia’s “Chandelier” song just a couple of weeks ago. I don’t know where I’ve been all this time while this song has been garnering a lot of attention and views on YouTube. I knew I occasionally encounter it being played on music channels but never really bothered to listen. Also, the fact that the little girl freaked me out when I first tried to watch the music video, doesn’t help too.

Throw ’em back ’til I lose count

But the moment I got to finish it, I was in awe and can’t stop searching the web for more information about Sia and Maddie Ziegler (the little girl dancing in the video). My youngest sister even teases me about my obsession. I was drawn by the powerful message of the song (which is about alcoholism, btw), backed up by the brilliant concept and execution of the video. There’s something about the fluidity of the steps and creepy vibe that makes me watch it over and over again.

The song is pure genius and is my current on-repeat song. You can also watch the one-take version of the video and the performance of Sia (with her back to the audience actually – something about not wanting to be famous and whatnot) and Maddie at Ellen’s show below.

What’s your current jam? You can tell me about it in the comments. Ciao!

signature

C'mon leave a comment! I don't bite! :)

