Music Mondays: Don Gato and Shoo Fly

A SONG FROM YOUR CHILDHOOD

Oh, the joys of being young, wild and free! I’ll definitely go back to the time when things weren’t so complicated and playing was number one on my to-do list. I’m reminiscing the times when everyday life were easy and you were counting the days until you’re officially a grown-up (because they were COOL according to my little mind at that time). Oh boy, I’ve never been so wrong in my life! LOL! I sometimes find myself thinking of my childhood and how it’s been like. I remember the fun, the not-so-fun moments and the music that formed my earlier years.

Let me share to you guys two songs that I can remember from that time of my life. The first one is the Señor Don Gato song. It is a children’s song about a cat that is sitting on a roof and reading a letter. He learned that the love of his life has agreed to marry him. Because of sooo much happiness, he jumped on the roof but fell down on the ground and injured himself. All of the cat doctors went to help him but they couldn’t do anything to heal Don Gato so he died. On his funeral procession, they passed by a market and the smell of fish was too strong that Don Gato was brought back to life.

It’s a bit weird but a fun song for me actually and because it’s a song about a cat, there has to be a “Meow, Meow, Meow” in the lyrics there somewhere. I asked my younger sister if she remembers this song. She said she doesn’t even know the song until I made her listen to it. Maybe I’m the only one who remembers because I’m the eldest.

As the funeral passed the market square,
Such a smell of fish was in the air
Though the funeral was slated,
Meow, meow, meow
He became re-animated,
Meow, meow, meow
He came back to life Don Gato

Another song that takes me down to memory lane is Shoo Fly Don’t Bother Me. You know that song where you are constantly driving away a fly because you already belong to a somebody? Yes, that song! (I still don’t get the connection between the fly and you belonging to someone, honestly). Then, you will sing about feeling like a morning star. And how does being a morning star feel like? I don’t know either. It’s just fun to sing when I was a kid.

Shoo fly don’t bother me
For I belong to somebody

I feel, I feel
I feel like a morning star

I remember having this cassette tape (90’s baby!) with children’s songs in it but I don’t know why these two songs stuck with me until now. I had forgotten the other songs no matter how much I tried to remember them. I realized that it’s fun to remember your childhood once in a while and let the inner kid in you go out and have fun, since all work and no play, makes Jack a dull boy.

Do you know these songs too? What is your favorite song when you were a child? Share it to me! 🙂

signature

C'mon leave a comment! I don't bite! :)

